Mount Baker Snow

Mount Baker ski patrolman Eric Nord skis through powder and trees on Thursday, Dec. 13, 2012 at Mount Baker Ski Area. This is Nord’s second year on the ski patrol at Mount Baker. The ski area is experiencing one of the best starts to a season in recent years, operations manager Gwyn Howat said.

Mount Baker ski patrolman Eric Nord skis through powder and trees on Thursday, Dec. 13, 2012 at Mount Baker Ski Area. This is Nord’s second year on the ski patrol at Mount Baker. The ski area is experiencing one of the best starts to a season in recent years, operations manager Gwyn Howat said.

 

The assignment called for snowboarding. Yikes. Recently I was assigned to travel to Mount Baker Ski area near Bellingham and make pictures of all things snow. As of Dec. 13, 2012, Mount Baker Ski Area had one of the largest snow bases in the world and my job was to show scenes of the ski area and people enjoying the snow. Upon arriving at the mountain, I was quickly picked-up by ski patrol on a snow-mobile and taken to speak with the operations manager, Gwyn Howat. Gwyn was great in helping me out and after establishing that I indeed knew how to snowboard, she gave me a ski pass and freedom to ride the mountain to get the shots I needed. Not having gone skiing in years, I must say I was a little apprehensive about carrying all my camera equipment and managing myself on a board. After a slow first run, I traveled to the top of chair 8 and met up with two ski patrolmen, Dan Rose and Eric Nord. I explained my mission and they agreed to ski around with me to look for some powder and get some good action shots. With my limited abilities snowboarding I knew it would be a challenge to keep up, but I did my best. After following them, at a distance, and stopping at a few different spots, Rose and Nord finally stopped near the bottom of Chair 8 above a set of trees encased in snow. Nord said there was some good untracked powder in the trees and that I should try to maneuver below them and get a shot of them making their way through the tress. Doing my best, and falling in front of them, I worked my way around below the trees and rolled onto my knees. Sinking up to my thighs in fresh snow, I set my exposure and got into position for the shot. Hollering out to the two patient ski patrolmen that I was ready, I aimed my lens through trees in hopes of spotting where they would be making their way down before they did anything cool. As soon as I located Eric coming toward me, I began snapping shots. Keeping him in focus I fired a bunch before he even hit the snow pillow, realizing this I paused, he hit the snow splashing it high into the air -click- and I made this photo. Looking through my take, it was my best shot of the day and one that I definitely worked hard for. I most assuredly have a new-found respect for snow photographers. Half the battle is getting there.

2 thoughts on “Mount Baker Snow

  1. As usual, a great shot. The thing I appreciated most, though, was your description of how hard you had to work to get the shot.

Leave a Reply

