2012 Mount Baker Hill Climb

I recently shot the Mount Baker Hill Climb, Ride 542, bike race for the Bellingham Herald. While I have never been one to complain about rising early, waking up around five in the morning to a cold, overcast day is certainly not how I prefer to spend my Sunday mornings. However, beside being exhausted, this shoot turned out being one of my favorites of the year and I was really happy with some of the shots I was able to make. A majority of the day involved me in the back of Herald reporter Andrew Lang’s truck, which felt slightly dangerous and adventurous all in one, shooting while moving and stopping periodically as we made our way up the mountain.

These guys were absolute animals on the road. The top biker finished the race in about an hour and twenty minutes, an absolutely mind-boggling feat for a twenty-four mile, 4300+ foot vertical climb.

Here are some of my favorites of the day. Enjoy.

Pace Rubadeau, of Portland, plays his trumpet during the 10th annual Mount Baker Hill Climb near the Mount Baker Ski Area on state Route 542 on Sunday, Sept. 9, 2012. Rubadeau, a career musician, has been playing music for riders for the last three years and could be heard from the valley below.

2 thoughts on “2012 Mount Baker Hill Climb

Leave a Reply

