Memorial Day 2012

Over Memorial Day weekend I shot like crazy. Sometimes I like those crazy weekends, other times I most assuredly do not. While in the moment of last weekend, I was definitely not loving it. I wish I could say that I never go on assignment angry or irritated, but I am only human and on this assignment I shot for the Herald, I was not a happy camper. I wasn’t happy I was going to the assignment, wasn’t happy at the assignment, and wasn’t happy leaving the assignment. I was stuck in one of those negative loops that are sometimes unavoidable under stress and fatigue. However, aside from all this, in retrospect it was a great last weekend of college and I am happy now that I thoroughly documented it.

One of the beauties of photography in my experience is the transference of energy that takes place between photographer and subject. After I received compliments on the gallery I published from a couple of photography peers that I really respect, I was able to look at my take from that day again, with new eyes. The interesting moment came when I realized that through my work and the images I made that day, I was able to see the emotions I was feeling personally. What I looked for, what I photographed, was a reflection of my inner self projected onto the people around me (if that makes any sense at all). It was kind of a revelation, but felt like something I had known all along. I suppose this is what makes a photograph stand out from the rest.

The ability the photographer has to capture the essence of a precise moment shouldn’t be taken lightly. El arte más allá de la técnica.

Here are some of the shots from that day.

 

Vietnam War veteran Ron Hardesty performs his song “Name on the Wall,” at the memorial day ceremony at Hovander Homestead Park on Monday May 28, 2012 in Ferndale. Hardestry has been performing the song for the last six years at the ceremony. More than 50 people attended the ceremony that commemorated Vietnam War veterans, which was followed by a barbeque.

 

Marsha Doyle and Joshua Bennett, of Ferndale, look at the names on a plaque dedicated to the fallen soldiers of the Vietnam War from Whatcom County at Hovander Homestead Park on Monday May 28, 2012 in Ferndale. “It makes you proud,” Doyle said.

 

 

 

Scenes from the memorial day ceremony at Hovander Homestead Park on Monday May 28, 2012 in Ferndale. More than 50 people attended the ceremony that commemorated Vietnam War veterans, which was followed by a barbeque.

 

 

Leave a Reply

